Where might you suggest I look for shared housing with a Senior? - AgingCare.com

Where might you suggest I look for shared housing with a Senior?

Follow
Share

Hi

I'm a 48 year old responsible, non smoking female who is seeking a home share with a Senior who is reasonably independent, but willing to reduce rent in return for assistance with household and outdoor chores. This would also be a benefit to a senior to have someone around. I have a clean record and can provide references. I have done caregiving in the past (my mother has severe Alzheimer's Disease, and I took care of her 24/7 for 8 months.) At this point in time, I am interested in retaining my job in the health field, so am not considering a substantial amount of caregiving in a living situation.

Do you have any suggestions as to where I might locate homesharing opportunities? Is there a senior-oriented newsletter that I could advertise in at a low cost?

Thank you for any help you can provide regarding this request.

This question has been closed for answers. Ask a New Question.
2

Answers

Show:
http://www.homesharevermont.org/
HomeShare Vermont (formerly known as Project Home) was founded in 1982 by a group of local volunteers through the Retired Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP). With help from several University of Vermont professors they developed the program from scratch, including the matching process that we still use today. In 1986 HomeShare Vermont became a program of the Cathedral Square Corporation (CSC), a local non-profit housing development organization that focuses on the needs of seniors and people with disabilities. Due to the growth of both HomeShare and CSC, HomeShare Vermont became an independent 501(c)3 non-profit corporation in 2005.
Helpful Answer (2)
Report

This is just a recommendation, but start with your place of worship. My widowed neighbor had a 2 flat house (her mother used to live upstairs) and after her mother and later her husband passed away she needed financial assistance with keeping the house. She and her husband had been very involved in her church (Catholic) so when the time came she had no problems getting someone to move in to share the expenses. The woman who did move in was wonderful, and as my neighbor started to decline, this woman was her fist line of assistance helping her with shopping etc., and later in locating a permanent caretaker. My husband and I were backup as we lived down the street and we took care of the lawn and minor house repairs. Good luck. Sounds like you have a lot to offer.
Helpful Answer (1)
Report

This question has been closed for answers. Ask a New Question.
Related
Questions