Follow

I'm very new to caregiving - in my previous post I mentioned that my dad lives in another country and I had to spend time with him getting everything "in order" since I can't live in his country permanently and he cannot come back to the United States for a host of reasons. I have a therapist appointment set up for next week but I just find myself irrationally annoyed at others at home and at work. People complaining about things that make me just want to say "Really? Those are your problems? Give me a break." I'm hoping this is just a phase and it passes but I'm just so exhausted, stressed and angry about everything and how I know my life will never be the same from this point on. Did anybody feel like this at times? People are allowed to have their problems - I know I'm just being a crank and I always keep it to myself, I just want to get the hell over it.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
I don't know about others, but I tend to get the most angry when I'm feeling anxious. There are days that I'm on edge that I resent everyone on the road that is getting in my way. I want to beat them up in my mind, though they aren't doing a thing wrong except breathing. It's really about how I'm feeling inside and not about them. Maybe it's the same with you and some deep breathing and relaxation will help. I like to look at things in a Buddhist-like way when I'm feeling stressed.
(4)

Yes - it's definitely me and not them. I know that for sure. I just don't normally have such a sour attitude towards others but it's just different for me now.
(1)

My coworkers are obsessed with special diets. Makes me furious when they start the paleo, gluten, carb monologues. I want yell, "my mother had a stroke and cannot swallow. Just... eat sensibly, and don't waste your health and youth worrying about stupid crap."