Follow

I have been caring for my father for 8 years. I moved into his home with him. I also have a full time job but with Covid, mostly from home.

We were getting my dad ready for a routine colonoscopy when he got weak and fell. The ambulance took him to emergency and he was admitted to the hospital with sepsis and pneumonia. 2.5 weeks later he's still in the hospital and every time they talk about sending him home, something new comes up.

Sepsis, pneumonia, kidneys, blockage in colon resulting in colostomy surgery, oxygen, catheter, vomiting and now his digestive system is not working and he has a tube draining the stomach. They dont really know what's going on now.

Hes such a good man and a sweetheart. I just wanted him to be able to come home so I can care for him. Now I dont know if hes going to make it out of here.

I've been anxious and depressed. Each morning I wake with a knot in my stomach and a feeling of dread. All I can do is visit, hold his hand and love him. I had no idea he was so sick before he went to the hospital and I live with him!

Most of this is just typing to get it out.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Great big warm hug!

I have had loved ones that have gone down hill for years and then I have been faced with the sudden demise, I believe that you and he are blessed if he has not been suffering for years and he passes quickly if they can't give him quality of life.

May God grant you strength and wisdom during this difficult time.
(3)