Follow

Some of you know that I have been caring for a mother with Alzheimer's for close to three years now. She is what I would term 'moderate to early advanced,' but progressively getting worse, which is what usually happens. Other than still tending to her own bathroom needs and being able to feed herself with a spoon or fork, she needs help with everything else, and her memory is totally gone.

With nothing to lose, I decided to invest $10.00 for a large jar of extra virgin, cold pressed coconut oil from a local health food store, and mix it in her food twice a day. I read several stories about positive results from this oil, because of its ability to produce ketones which serves as nourishment for brain cells. Currently, only the University of South Florida is conducting a research study on this oil, but clinical results are still far off. And no other formal studies are taking place (for obvious reasons). No company is going to make money off such a cheap natural supplement.