Follow

I have been caregiving on and off since 2005 for various family members
(father in law, mother in law, sister, mother, father) in various degrees, but mostly during health crises. Some of these crises lasted a few months, some a several years, and some were happening at the same time for different family members.

In 2013 I had sugery for breast cancer, then my thyroid went hypo in the next few months, and recently I had extremely low blood sugar ( which can be brought on by hypothyroidism).

Today I called my parents and told them that I could no longer be the one
to personally give them care any longer because my own health is not great anymore.

A few years ago, I did some research and had interviewed a few home health agencies, found one I really loved and told Mom and Dad to get signed up with them so that if they need someone to come in right away it could be done. Mom just got the application. I purchased Phillips pendants and health monitor for both Mom and Dad.
I also told them that I would not be the one who would be
able to take them in to give care and live with me because
I no longer have the health to do this.

I wanted to let them know so that they could be mentally and emotionally prepared and not hoping and waiting for me to run in and fix the situation when in reality I might not be able to do that as I used to.

They both agreed and understood. It was reassuring to me after many years of trying to get them to let others involved to help, that they finally agreed.
I feel like I will be able to keep an eye on them, and make sure things are getting done correctly and for their benefit without having to do it all myself.

It took many years to get to this point, and it took me sometime to