Follow

His sister who is presently living in their mother's home feels he should be changing Mom's 'briefs' when he is there in his sister's absence, My husband would prefer to preserve his mother's dignity...He is not at all comfortable with doing this. But, his sister is...difficult.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
1 2 3
Is mom able to express her feeling about it. If she is opposed that should be honoured. However...
I can see how your husband feels but as one person said, it is the same as changing a child's diaper. This mom of his surely changed his diaper. It would help if he assumed a professional/clinical attitude when he was doing it. Don't be thinking "this is my mom", but rather "I'm a nurse doing a job". Having done work in the medical field, I've seen lots of private parts. Having a clinical attitude makes see that very different then seeing it is another context. He could always hire a caregiver to be there to do it. His sister need to have breaks. Sister may be "difficult", but she is doing what percentage of the care? 80%, 90%, 99%? Please consider expressing your appreciation for her work. Unless you do it, you have no idea how hard it is.
(3)

People act like this is a sexual issue. Do you look at changing a baby or toddler's diaper as sexual. No. It's just a bodily function. They do it, you change the diaper. No different with adults. Period. It's only nasty or sexual if you make it that way. No one likes it or enjoys it. It's just a task to be done. Seems sad that a loved one would be off to a nursing home for the sole reason of toileting issues if there were any feasible options.
(6)

I can understand how your husband would be uncomfortable viewing and cleaning his mothers "privates".
A wet diaper wouldn't be too bad but having to clean #2 smeared all over the skin and in crevices would be a challenge.