Follow

He's also nearly blind and uses a walker. I retired a few months ago due to his declining health. I have been providing caregiving to my husband for more than 20 years now (Cardiomyopathy in 95, had a heart transplant in 1997) in one fashion or another, but the last 5 years have been the toughest. Some days are good for me, many days I have anger and resentment because of the long term care he has needed over the years. I get care in at times, and have had some 2-3 day respites that have helped but sometime keeping a good attitude is very difficult. Actually, most of the time it's hard to keep a smile on my face! Glad to join this group and vent some. Hi all!

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Beyondburnout1, welcome to the forum! I'm sure you will read many things here that you can relate to. There will be many questions that you can answer out of your long experience. And feel free to ask questions yourself, or just to vent sometimes.
(1)

Hi Beyondburnout and welcome! Your husband has been so blessed to have you caring for him for the last 20 years. That's a long time. It's no wonder you have a hard time keeping a good attitude, anyone would! Hopefully this site will give you the support and information to continue on your journey.
Remember to take care of yourself!
(1)

Thank you for your feedback! Just knowing I can come here and vent or help others out with our lives as caregivers is good. :)
(2)

Oh, and I forgot, he's also on kidney dialysis ( 5 years now )......that probably has been the toughest thing for him and me. :(
(0)