Follow

I hate it! But feel guilty that I hate it.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
If you hate it, get away from it. People who hate it are ready to jump off a bridge within three months. We can help you with any question you have, but we can't fix hating it.
(3)

I've been used to my independence and now I have to answer to someone everyday. I have my own chronic illness that I have dealt with fine. It's my mother- in-law so I'm obligated. And I'm learning and don't expect someone to teach me not to hate it. I'm learning to cope. Maybe it should have been under whining. Like I said I'm new at this!
(1)

You are obligated to watch over her, you are not obligated to sacrifice your own health in the process. The baby boom generation is in the unique position that just as our own strength is waning, our parents are living twenty years longer than their parents did. We have retirees caring for elderly. We have working moms who have no spare energy or time to donate to the cause. So we chew up Prozac like it is candy and trek onward.
(1)

I'm really finding the adjustment period hard. It's almost a year and I thought I would get used to it by now.
(0)

I know how u feel. My mother has been the perfect mother all of my life and has selfLESly always been there for me. Now she has moderate dementia. She lives wth her husband (not my dad) who isnt coping very well. I work 4dsys a week and see my dear mum for two days. Just watching her deteriorate is so upsetting and making me ill. i hope im going to be able to cope. I cant concentrate to read or watch tv, im consumed wth worry about her. My best friend is gone
(4)