Follow

My mother was a 99 year old lady who went into the home to be managed with breast cancer, instead the care that she received as appalling. I was there the last 3mths of her life it was the worst thing that i saw and now have post traumatic stress because of it. I am a nurse and was able to ask questions and challenge the staff and this is when it came difficult. Mum develope pressure sores to her heels that i highlighted 2/52 weeks after she got there. I thought that I could protect but unfortunately she died. The social services was involved , CQC , coroners ,police but nothing really was done about the home that should have been closed down . There was more to the case but what was surprising that with all the evidence that i had was omitted from the report .

Having been through this I now understand quite clearly how and why it continues that vulnerable people are coming to harm all the time. What does the CQC do to prevent this from occurring. If we have a regulator what has gone wrong.

The upsetting thing for me is that i had the evidence of very bad practices and even though the Social services said there was neglect that caused mums pressures sores the CQC went in and only concentrated on the medicines ,nothing else. There was a lot of stonewalling ,inaccuracies . It was unbelievable when you are in it and how it works . This was neglect in the fullest form.

I was able to contest the regulators but they all formed a bond to protect the home . Regulators are there to protect and safeguard the individuals . There was another safe guarding issue going on that i found out. There have been 25v concerns raised that i had found out ,but this did not appear to be a concern.

people advised why don't i just get on with my life but the issues is that this could easily happen to their relative or they themselves could end up in a nursing home.