Follow

Hello All,
I am currently a student studying in the Social Work field. For my project, I am to join a group of interest and connect with the group members. For me, I have strong passion to work with the elderly population, and I believe this platform will help me with learning more about caring for the aging group and understand their needs. So far, I am taking care of my 66 year old father as his primary care giver, and he is the inspiration for me to join this field. I truly hope to be able to get connected with you all soon. Thank you.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Welcome Pluvian---

To desire to be of 'good' in the world is a worthy field of study. I'm not sure this particular site will help that much--but I don't know what you're hoping to gain.

A lot of us have put our heart and souls out in grief, anger, frustration and we do so anonymously and therefore, it can get gritty and a little too real for a lot of people. Just a 'warning'.

You may be absolutely appalled at how many of us have living parents with whom we have no relationship, for a variety of reasons. Don't be judgmental.

Many of us have suffered abuse at the hands of the very people who should have loved us without condition--and in our 60's, 70's and beyond we are still trying to make it all 'right'.

Basically--we're human.

I hope this site can be of help to you. It will definitely be an eye opener.
(0)

Hi! I remembered your post, and the mixed responses to it. I wondered if you had found another group. For your student project, you could perhaps write about trying to 'join' this one, and being rebuffed. You could raise the issue of ethics. I wonder if any of your class mates 'joined' AA because they were interested in observing people with alcoholism. I think the issue of ethics is really quite interesting in what you were asked to do, and well worth raising in your class. Yours, Margaret
(1)