Follow

My mother died a last week and my feelings are so complicated but none of them involve real grief. Unless it is the grief of not grieving. She was 93 and I've been caring for her for nearly 19 years. That is all my middle age and into early senior days. We had a difficult relationship and she was difficult. She was charming to others but not to me. I am struggling to remember when we had good times. Her last words were, "I'll see you in hell." At the internment today it was just me, a priest and the funeral director. As the urn was lowered, I sobbed. Not for her but for what a waste it all was. People are consoling me and I cannot say what I feel, which is....finally. People don't want to hear the truth.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Rosyday, you are not alone in the type relationship you had with your mother. Nor are there set rules on how you should feel, or how you should mourn. I often wonder how I will feel, how I will handle it if I live to see my mother pass on because of a similiar type relationship you describe.

Caregiving is taxing and draining. Over the years you have problably did a life time of mourning during your time caregiving. Break the bond of her last words and any negative memories. And live your life, love yourself. Know that you are worthy of happiness and love. Trust in God, He knows your heart, your pain your road. Let go of all that pain and live. Stay in Prayer and now learn to focus on you and what makes you happy what gives you joy. Embrrace what is left of your life.
(4)

Don't lose hope.  There is light at the end of the tunnel and his name is Jesus Christ.  Others can't console you because they haven't walked in your shoes - they don't have any idea what you've been through.  We are here for you Rosyday.  You've done your best, you've given your all - now it's YOUR time and I pray you find the happiness you so deserve.
(3)