Follow

I moved into my parents home to help care for my Mom who has vascular dementia, my dad also here and very alert, but physical problems with heart and blood pressure. My sister is also here who has always lived with my parents and is mildly mentally handicapped. My home is still here in this small town, but since my husband passed away fairly young and my children are grown and gone, there is no use being in my big old house by myself and I also did this for a living as a retired nurse.

My thing is, it seems like every day the same, not that I did much in winter anyway, but it gets so tiresome, the same every day. I have been here almost 2 years and I know they need my help, but I'm so bored. So much here as kept everything, I should clean a lot out, they do have a fairly new home but it's packed to the brink. My sister never really taught how to clean, she does wash dishes and clothes, and is so anxious seeing a therapist as she can't deal with thought of losing our parents as this is all she knows. She is child like and does not have a mean bone in her body, but sometimes I just don't think I can take it anymore. My Mom still walks and eats, but is weaker and is just here now, no emotion. Is still continent with me taking her to bathroom and feeding her soups, very soft foods, ensure, and fluids.

I feel bad saying this, just wondering if others have felt this way, thank you.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.