Follow

I was an unwanted child abused sexually, physically, and emotional from my father mother and stepfather and the external family didn't want me either. Over the years i have struggled myself with mental illness from ptsd to schizoaffective which runs in my grandparents families. I know have moved in to take care of my father because no one else will and he will not go to a nursing home after two seperate ones he was neglected. He is a very angry man that wants everything done his way. He demands me to do things and hardly ask. His family will not help me clean the house out or even give me time off.  I am trying to get aides in again but so far no luck. He still allows family to call me worthless, greedy, and much more. I worked as a CNA for several years till my doctor told me to stop because of both physical and emotional reasoning. That didn't stop me though. I have helped at food banks, homeless, and with seniors and even received awards for my help from the senate but I am worthless because I don't have a full time job. I sometimes just want to walk away. My doctors think I am crazy for even trying. I spend time just crying. I have been doing almost everything for almost a year now. Not sure how much longer I can continue.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
You are NOT worthless, and anyone that would say otherwise you need to stay far away from, for your mental health's sake. You do not deserve to be abused still when all you're trying to do is help. And to be honest I am not sure why you feel that you have to take care of your dad. He obviously doesn't appreciate it, so why do you put yourself through that? So he doesn't have anyone else. Oh well. He has made his bed and now he has to lie in it. Let him figure things out, or his extended family that wants to verbally abuse you. You are not responsible for the care of your dad. You need to be taking care of yourself and finding healthy ways to build up your self worth.