Follow

I am a professional who deals with caregivers often, I spoke with a lady last week who shared she wanted to drive her car into the river, but she was a Christian. Another recently shared she wanted to end it all but knew she had to care for her husband? I want to know if this is common or an isolated incident? I want to educate others and get more help in the areas needed and open up the discussion so people are not alone. Thanks

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
First, your profile states that you are caring for someone with depression. You state you are a professional dealing with caregivers. Would you mind explaining your role in more detail? Are you a social worker, psychiatrist?

Second, I'm always a bit suspicious when broadly based, intensely personal questions are asked by someone for whom little background information is provided.

Third, what are your specific plans to "educate others", "get more help"? Through support groups, seminars, publications, on-line forums?

Fourth, your question is one based on narrow and drastic action - "despair" and "wanting it all to end". These are oviously the extreme measures if what you're referring to is suicide.

Fifth, Are you not dealing at all with the intermediate steps which can lead to these feelings, and how to address them so that an extremely dangerous emotional level is avoided?
(1)

Very common in both the patient and the caregiver to be unable to see beyond the abyss of caregiving. You encourage them to take life one day at a time. Your mere presence is their lifeline, your open ear absorbs the weight of their burden. You responses are formed in questions to draw out the festering emotions. You can no more "save" them than you can save a drunk from booze. You just point them in the right direction, help them get up and move forward.
(5)

"your open ear absorbs the weight of their burden"

Pam, your words are poetic and lyrical.
(2)