How many caregivers suffer from despair and wanting it all to end?

Follow

I am a professional who deals with caregivers often, I spoke with a lady last week who shared she wanted to drive her car into the river, but she was a Christian. Another recently shared she wanted to end it all but knew she had to care for her husband? I want to know if this is common or an isolated incident? I want to educate others and get more help in the areas needed and open up the discussion so people are not alone. Thanks

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing

Comments

Show:
Do you notice how you apoligize for simply being real, raw and truthful about where you are? This proves how important this topic is to bring out in the open out of the darkness. Caregiver you are not alone in your darkness, we cannot change the situation or walk away, however, we can be encouraged that we are not crazy, mean, wrong, you are affected by your cirmcustances in the most common feelings. It is I hope a relief to know your reactions are a normal part of a bad situation. It does not make you a bad person or mean you have ill will towards those we are caring for. Yet, you have become prisoner to the very love and care you want to give. I commend you all for your honesty and bravery. I would be a fool to think words could make it better, instead to know your not a lone in your struggles. This forum is valuable! Being real is being brave!
(0)

to be honest I see no reason for a person to carry on once they have got to the final stages id rather my loved one could pass so as not to carry on for nothing no light at end of tunnel so sad david Cameron has said we must do more but lets just say its going to take along time as they cannot tell if you are suffering from dem/alz until the brain has been looked at after death sorry to sound awful xx
(0)