Follow

Well, as anticipated, when Mama's Xarelto required a new prescription, we are unable to get her prescription because Hospice and Blue Cross BOTH refuse to pay for the meds, saying the other one should pay...while they circle the wagons, Mama is stuck in the middle and I have been at the center of what has turned into a ridiculous debate over who shot John. I am not a doctor or a nurse, so when Blue Cross is asking me all these diagnostic questions, I can only answer with what I know...Mama broke her ankle, anesthesia did a number on her during surgery, she ended up back in the hospital right after Christmas, and subsequently while there was found to have extensive blood clots in her right leg....She has been relatively sedentary for the past two years prior and now is totally bedfast, so whether the clots were there prior, whether there could be others...I do not know...Bottom line, she started the Xarelto due to the discovery of the blood clots and now her prescription has run out. She was supposed to continue the meds, Hospice says they are not paying for it, Blue Cross says they are not paying for it...the pharmacy has been a godsend as they have given me a few extra pills while the arguing goes back and forth and now the meds are gone....totally gone...and no one will pay...NO ONE.....the doctor has allegedly done all the forms for the preauthorization, etc. and also supposedly has called Blue Cross, still each argues the other one owes and so no one is doing anything....I am beside myself....definitely not something I would have anticipated going through by our hospice provider...with this last development, I am finally realizing I think it is time to change hospice providers altogether....there have been other red flags along the way and this is kind of the final straw. In all honesty I see Blue Cross point, but either way, Mama needs her meds, they can sort that out themselves....our hospice folks told me this morning we can just pay for them ourselve