Follow

To anyone that may remember me, or helped me out last year in June about my alcoholic mother; one last and final update.

My mother is 4 months clean. Last September my father booked her a doctors appointment, made my mom go, and my doctor called the police who then took her to the psychiatric ward for a 72 hour evaluation. She stayed for only 48 hours. Came home. Relapsed. Then in December my sister got wasted at school in the bathroom and when my parents were called to meet her at the emergency room, my mom got a wake up call.

My mom relapsed here and there. But she has been clean since April. I’m still learning to unlearn all the resentment I have, and trying not to snap back when we bicker because I know it’s not what she needs, especially when she’s recovering.

But all in all, she’s the mother I grew up with, and I’m head over heels about it. I haven’t seen this woman in years. Maybe a decade.

I am going to college in September. I worked for the past year to pay for college. I found a job as a housekeeper at a hotel. Tips aren’t great but I’m still getting paid.

Ive noticed my Dad is a lot happier with my mom bouncing around the house. My siblings are a lot happier too.

My mom never got professional help though, which is worrisome because they teach you how to not relapse. However she’s been doing pretty well on her own. I’m hoping she’ll receive help to not go down the same path in the future.

I want to say thank you to everyone who commented and left advise and pushed me to do the right thing. I didn’t have anyone to look to at that point in my life and it meant a lot. I hope everyone who commented is doing well. I hope everyone has a great day or night, whenever you’re reading this. Also, I hope I never have to come on here again looking for advice about my mother. God bless you all.

Lots of love,

Sprinkles

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing