Follow

My caretaking journey ended August 13th, 2016 with the passing of my dear father. Before that I cared for my mother until she passed. My father slowly decided to go along with her. Dementia was the cause of death. The first couple of months I had hope for life after they were gone. I threw the funeral of a "lifetime", I did everything perfectly. Then the holidays hit and here I am. Alone. The last in the family. Seemingly the last person on earth to me. I dont know how to find my fire again. I dont know how to stay here on earth without them. My love all left me here. I am an artist and I cant find anything in my soul to inspire me to work. I feel like everyone is avoiding me. Nobody wants to hang out with grief. I need help.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Diane, everyone grieves differently. What I found great that helped me get back with my life was doing volunteer work. So many people could need your help. Pick one were your expertise would be needed. It will give you reason to get up in the morning, and you are around a lot of interesting people.

Example, you mentioned you are an artist, many Independent Living facilities offer art classes to their residents. They would enjoy having a professional artist to help the residents experience the fun of drawing or painting. You will go home with a big smile :)
(7)

Thank you. I have been volunteering. In fact I give - a lot. As far as pick where my expertise will be needed - I have done that too. I appreciate your kind response. It is tough to start to find your own way and I think the holidays were what prompted the additional sadness.
(3)

Dianemarie I have been where you are and I know it's a tough road but time helps. I think finding a goal, something to strive for can help. Think of something you've always wanted to pursue. Whether it be a hobby, job, project of some kind.