Follow

I lost my job of 14 years in 2011 when they moved out of state. I couldn't find another. I have a Masters degree in analytical chemistry but went to work at the grocery store for $10 an hour. Then, I got a job where I am now, logging in samples for other "chemists" (they have no such degrees like I do). After my mother died (had to work "part time" taking her to transfusions which meant a day off every other week but no vacation time), I became full time and eventually was moved to do entry-level chemistry where I am now. Yesterday, I found out that I would finally get to use an instrument more suited to someone with my degrees. It's a big step up. No mention of a raise (still $4 per hour below where I was 4 years ago) or more time off (I get 2 weeks now and had 4 weeks in 2011). So, this morning on my way to work, I was driving 5 miles over the speed limit, and a big white SUV goes around me, and the guy shows me his middle finger for a whole minute and was really mad when I did nothing. Then, I e-mail my brother to tell him my news, and he says I need a new job. He makes 4 times what I do, and loves to remind me what a loser I am. I told my father last night, and, per usual, he didn't respond. He is in his own world; I wonder what, if anything, he is ever thinking. Is it too much to ask to have just one person encourage me instead of ignoring me, giving me the finger, or telling me what a failure I am?

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
It's tough out there for older workers. My sister lost her job after 40 years with the same company during the economic downturn. All she has been able to find since is part time work at minimum wage, and she's still too young to retire. You have been lucky to find something in your field at all but the people who haven't been there just won't understand. Congrats on your promotion, hopefully there are more coming your way!
(2)