Follow

This is really just a big whine. No matter what I try I can't keep mom on a bowel schedule. We are already on colace twice daily, senna at bedtime and milk of magnesia every third day until we see results. I keep trying to tweak this so I don't end up with an explosion of diarrhea , but now we are on day seven and in the midst of my monthly constipation h*ll. Repeated milk of mag and suppositories have produced some foul foul liquid, but still no real BM. I know she feels terrible about it, and I am less than pleasant to deal with. The poor woman has no normal bowel function at all, no desire and no ability to push. Our nurse comes tomorrow, but we have been through this too often already. I keep thinking that death by constipation would be a horrible way to have to go...

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
I have a lot of experience with this about three years ago. BE CAREFUL because in the emergency room, they did a "high enema" with a tube up inside her, they put their fingers up inside her and pulled out the stuff. However, they ruptured a wall, evidently the membrane between vagina and colon is very thin, and then brown bowel liquid was coming out of her vagina. Then we had UTI's every 2-3 weeks or so. Such a snowball effect. So just remember, the colon is not at tough as it looks. The VERY BEST treatment is a colonic. They do not do those in the hospital, and the "high enema" which they say is "just like a colonic" is NOT AT ALL like a colonic. A colonic is comfortable, easy, clean, and has gentle suction to wash and pull out fecal matter all the way up to the ileocecal valve. Bisocydl pills are good for stubborn cases. For maintenance, put her on baby food and fruit purree. A pureed fruit cup every day. Just that regular fruit cup (dole?) in fruit juice. Baby foods and pureed foods gets more liquid in her without having to nag about water all the time. Those new "squeezies" are great in the baby fo