Follow

I just wanted some thoughts/feedback on something that I've been pondering for some time now.

Since coming here in 2019, I have read about all sorts of people who are caregivers, and what they did/do in their lives before becoming/while being caregivers. I have often seen "I'm a nurse taking care of my LO" or "my (family member) is a nurse, taking care of my LO". What I've never seen is: "I'm a doctor/family member is a doctor, taking care of my LO." I understand that's because it is considered a conflict of interest (except in life or death situations) for a doctor to give medical aid to a family member.

So my question is this: why, then, is it not also considered a conflict of interest for a NURSE to take care of a family member?

I'm very curious what/why the reason for this is. Is it a gender issue (more female nurses/male doctors)? Is it an "ego" thing - for lack of a better term - "I didn't pay all this money for med school to change bedpans!"? Is it because of the job description - nurses traditionally providing more TLC, doctors actually doing treatment? Or was it set up that way to particularly protect doctors from finding themselves in the position that it seems so many nurses find themselves in ("well, you're a nurse! You should be taking care of mom/dad/LO!")?

I'll be curious to see what you all think. I'm especially looking forward to hearing from the nurses here about their take on it.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
The difference would be that nurses aren't prescribing meds or directing care (or not any more than the rest of us). And as we've seen time and time again nurses aren't always as well equipped to deal with problems as you might expect, for example a person who works in a surgical ward or in pediatrics doesn't necessarily have a clue about dementia or elder care.

And I think there actually have been a few doctors on the forum who were caring for someone.
(2)