Follow

New to the site, and have enjoyed so much relating to so many posts and conversations. I have been searching for a support group for Caregivers in my area, without any success and this is my first time attempting an on-line format.

My story includes being thrown into dual caregiver status a little over a year ago. My Mother-in-law (love the MIL abbrv.) was diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer in January of 2012. Stage 2 originally, but after the whipple surgery pathology came back at Stage 3. She did not move in with us right away, however my husband's sister did. She is mentally handicapped, 45 years old, amazingly wonderful but stuck at about an 7-9 year old functioning level mentally. So she moved in with us in Feb 2012, while his mother went thru the surgery and started Chemo treatments. His sister is in a day program during the week (Thank goodness), so there was little effect to my FT job, and really just added a fourth child to my house to care for. Chemo for my MIL did not go well and she became extremely ill. In July, they took her off Chemo and pretty much said she was done. A final CT Scan showed the cancer had spread to her liver and spleen and with her weakened condition there was nothing further they could do. She had a heartattack a few weeks later, then went to rehab that almost killed her. No kidding, she was throwing up blood for 48 hours and they didn't send her to the ER. By the time I demanded her to get immediate treatment, she was already in dire need of a blood transfusion due to three massive bleeding ulcers. Which is where the decision to move my MIL also in with my husband and I came into play. I know there are some good Nursing homes available, but those are all private pay. If you are on Medicare, you are scrapping bottom for a bed in some of the scariest places I have ever seen.