Follow

My Dad has dementia, and I am the primary caregiver. I have been doing this for over 2 years.
My brother lives nearby, and I was always close to him, but I have started to really feel resentful because it seems the only time he offers to help is when it's convenient for him..
He does help out as far as cutting the lawn, plowing snow etc, but when it comes to spending time with my Dad he has excuses.
I have tried to talk to him about this several times, and after each time he seems to do more, then it goes back to the same thing.
It seems I am always working around what he has going on, and months back I told him if he has something going on he needs to tell me so I can plan ahead as far as my work etc, since I am working around whats going on with him.
Well, last month was the final straw, even before then,( the end of May) I was suspicious because he was offering to help out more, and then my niece (his daughter) told me that he was "kissing up to me" because he and his girlfriend had plans to be gone for a week the end of June, and instead of telling me he put it on my my Dad's calendar, figuring that I would bring it up when I finally saw it.
I pondered how to handle it, so I confronted him and asked him why he didn't tell me, and he said that he knew I'd be upset and didn't know how to tell me. I said that it didn't show much respect for me, considering I had told him previously that I needed to know when he had something going on.