Follow

Mom is currently in rehab and because we had an arguement and I raised my voice I am now under attack by the social workers at this NH. Mom and I have been arguing for 55 yrs and since she is hard of hearing I have conditioned myself to talk loudly around her. These social workers have now spoken to my Mother about a guardianship and are fully prepared to kick me to the curb after 15 yrs of loyal service.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
I have medical POA only if Mom is incapacitated. I asked the social worker "How is it that Mom is not incompetent enough to give me medical POA but IS incompetent enough to assign a guardian?" She murmered and then said "Your mother requested help with her finances." I have handled Mom's finances for 15 yrs, and besides, that would be a conservator, not a guardian. They have her ear 24/7 until April 26th minimum and are able to fill Mother's feeble little brain with whatever dastardly plans they choose and I have absolutely no control of the situation. BEWARE!!!!!!
(0)

When my mom was in rehab, the social worker overheard me talking to my son on the phone, I was complaining that my brother was able to do whatever he wanted to and I was stuck being the caregiver..well, they called elder services and one day there was a knock on my door and they came barging in to see if I was taking good care of my mom. I was mortified. So, I know what you are going thru. They don't understand caregiver venting like we do on here.They decided I was OK and left, and didn't come back.
(2)

I have watched social services change over the years and appreciate the fact that you have warned everyone about this issue. I hope you have an attorney that can help you with their accusations. Please vent with us and let us know about your situation. Take care and best wishes.
(1)