Follow

Husband shuts down when it comes to helping with responsibilities. On top of that I take care of all his mentally challenged brother's responsibilities. He brought up divorce tonight, I’m like bring it on. I’m done with all this BS, THIS IS HIS FAMILY! Anyone else going thru this? I CAN'T DO THIS ANYMORE. MIL is at assisted living but since April she has been at assisted living, Nursing Home, now back to a different assisted living. She gets UTIs if you just look at her. She lived with us for 1.5 years I was so hoping this would get better but it’s not.

I am a retired Nursing Home Administrator who is now on the other side. It sucks!

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
This isn't going to help you now but it just came to mind.

When SIL married my BIL and was having some problems with our MIL, she told BIL that his responsibility was his Mom (no problem with FIL) and hers was her parents. Not they couldn't be supportive of each other just BIL deal with his parents and she would deal with hers. After 47 yrs together, it worked for them.
(1)

If MIL gets catheterized, the ALs do NOT normally deal with it! I had to take my dad to the ER countless times when he was in AL and they wouldn't handle his issues.

That said, I love the responses you've gotten here! Your husband has SOME NERVE threatening you with divorce! He should be kissing your FEET and thanking you over & over again for all you do for HIS family! As a former NH professional, I'm sure you know that some people drop their mother or father off at the AL or the NH with a piece of luggage, never to be heard from again. Some how, some way, these residents survive at the facility withOUT someone coming to take care of their every need and/or whim. Remember that. It's your DHs turn to STEP UP and deal with his family members. If he wants a divorce, fine. Just be sure to get a good lawyer yourself who can fight for YOUR rights!

Best of luck!!
(5)