Follow

Hello,

I experienced my first angry outburst at the hospital where my mother in law is. She made a number of angry statements about me "admitting" her to hospital. I am not a doctor so have no admission privileges but due to lots of concerns I did indicate that I needed to either drive her to hosp/ER or I would call an ambulance. She was extremely incontinent (caused by an undiagnosed UTI) and unable to clean up her clothing. Her condo reeked on urine almost every day. She would pee in a pot as she could keep it close to her bed. She doesn't cook anymore so no concern about using the pot for cooking. However, she would leave the pot in the kitchen sink.

She was not able to walk more than a few feet and that would take her a long time.

She is completely socially isolated, doesn't hear or answer the phone, is clinically depressed and survives on "Boost" and other beverages.

The doc told her today she would be discharged - and would contact the family to arrange for discharge. We called the nursing unit to confirm what home care services would be in place post discharge. No plans had been made so we indicated that we would not be able to have her discharged.

We stopped by to see her at supper and to encourage her to eat. Upon out arrival, she was hostile, very upset particiularly at me who had been quite involved in her arriving at hopsital and getting admitted. Her recollection of the experience was not accurate and she made a number of statements that were completely untrue. The hospital staff and my husband were able to calm her somewhat.

I was devastated about what she said about me including wanting to get a lawyer etc to deal with me. I left the room as my presence was escalating her behavior.

My husband and I jointly decided to say no to her being discharged but she put all of this on me. I imagine that she felt completely out of control of what was happening to her and around her.