Follow

I've been a physical therapist for over 35 years and have worked in many different areas of caregiving. I was totally unprepared for being a caregiver. My mother was always domineering and liked to be in charge. For 20 yrs, my sister and her husband did everything to keep her in her home. ex:snow, grass,maintenance,dr,er,etc with no thanks at all. She fell often, but never any fractures. Got her a life alert which she cancelled, wouldn't allow home care nurse in house, The final straw was when she would call 911 for help to get off the floor and then complained that she shouldn't have to pay for this since she refused to go to the hospital. One night when I was visiting and my sister was staying overnite, we heard several people talking downstairs (sounded like a party). We went down in pajamas to fing several neighbors there to help get her off the floor!!! None of them were very young and we were SHOCKED! I later found these people programmed into her cell phone and had been called at other times to lift 180lb dead weight off the floor, so she wouldn't have to pay ems. We're talking about a 93 yo. Finally, she fell flat on her back in the Aldi's parking lot and injured her back.
She called me all excited because she was going to have back surgery! She loved all the attention of drs, hospitals, etc. I told her she wasn't having back surgery and I was flying there asap. (I spent the past week with my dau who was septic in an ICU in Maine due to a botched gall bladder surgery).
So, we moved her from upstate, NY to Michigan which was an 8 hr drive in the car. We had leased a small, accessable apartment within walking distance of our house. Fell 3 times in 1 day, so had her go to er. Went to rehab after and improved to walking with rollator.
WE went crazy and found a studio appt in asst living. Finally, some rest.