Follow

Hey guys. I haven't posted in a while. The pain was just too much.

I'm stationed overseas now so I called up my Dad. We shared some good memories about Mom and caught up with each other.

He said the hardest part of the day for him was the morning. Waking up,  looking to his left and realizing she's just not there.

Its hard to explain. Discussing it makes the pain sharper, but is also somehow carthatic.

Oddly enough, not long after my mother died, I got matched. So, now I am studying again.

Earlier in the Parkinsons before my Mom became bedridden she told me,"Son, if you get the chance to go specialize, take it. Go. Don't worry about me. God blessed me with the strength to raise my sons to be the men you are now."

That conversation was 3 years ago. I remember it stang so much when she said that.

Getting matched now? It's a bittersweet victory; because I wish she was there to see it.

Isn't it odd how the entire time my Mom was sick, I never got matched? The Universe/God works in truly mysterious ways.

A younger me would have thought it was wasted years. Watching my peers go specialize before me.

But now I know what it was. A gift. A gift to see my Mom through her Parkinson's to the end. God she suffered!

And boy did we fight. We took her to do MRIs. Interconsults. I took my first paycheck to send her to a neurologist back when she could still walk.

We argued bitterly at times about her care. We reconciled. We kept on the fight.

We put our different talents together. One of my brothers built handrails around our parents house. Somehow Mom still managed to fall just in the areas between the handrails 😑🤣 imagine our frustration. At least she never got seriously injured from her falls.

My other brother took it upon himself to take Dad out wherever he needed to go whenever Dad got overwhelmed by it all.