Follow

There seems to be gallons of ink on here about the horrors of hospice. I fully respect all those people who have shared these experiences. It's a valid discussion and I don't doubt for one second the validity of these experiences, nor am I interested in starting some sort of competition. However just as we need to hear the negative should also talk about the positive.

I've been volunteering with a non profit hospice for a few months. I don't claim to be any kind of expert as I am fairly new to the work and my experience is limited. My impression so far of this particular organization is very good. I've heard that the for profit companies doing hospice is Not so good but that is purely anecdotal evidence. So, let's talk......

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
I am glad you asked this...or that I found it. My mother in law had hospice services fro two different agencies. They might have both been the same but one definitely stood out as far as keeping the family advised. I was so impressed and now can suggest to those needing hospice that they are not all the same. We so appreciated the quick phone call to let us know that things were going well ...or not as the case might be. I received calls from the chaplain,. the nurse, the assistant...whoever stopped in that week. I have a friend who is a continuing care co-ordinator and a nurse and she would not recommend her own hospitals hospice...so , yes there is a difference. Admire that fact that you have become involved in this path.
(2)

Windy, I think it's Awesome that you volunteer with Hospice! This is something that I would Love to do in the future!
(1)