Follow

She is in advanced stages of Alzheimer's and refused outside help until he ended up in the hospital. I've been helping him take care of her for 4 years. I lived at their house when he was hospitalized for heart and gallbladder for a week. Then another week after he got home and was recovering and on many medications. Since he has so many restrictions for lifting and moving, he finally accepted hospice for mother. That is going well, but I still spend between 8-12 hours at their house everyday. Plus, I am getting pretty fed up because they criticize and holler at me all day long. Changing diapers, cleaning, cooking, making appointments, answering phone, talking to home care nurse etc. I know that I am getting depressed over this and I am very tired. I need to set some boundaries. How do I do that?

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Have they always been this way or is this new? Are they financially able to hire outside help? Do you have siblings that could help? Have you talked to them about how their attitude is effecting you? You can't allow anyone even parents to abuse you. I understand mom with dementia to a point but your dad needs to be on your side. Does mom's hospice have a social worker helping you? My mom's social worker is always asking me how I am and tells me to call if I need help. And if I have problems on nurse visit days the nurses will help when they come. Hospice isn't just for your mom. It's for the caregiver too. You need to get the help you need. You can't keep going this way for long. And you shouldn't have to. You don't owe your life to them. Please keep in contact with us here. We want to know. You'll see. The group of girls on this site are amazing. You'll get great support! Read "Two years this July my mother has been living with me..." You'll be amazed at the progress you'll read about on it. You can too with the help you'll get if you let us.
(0)