Follow

I've been trolling these boards for a couple of years. This forum has been a blessing to me as I have navigated (and continue to!) the ups downs and sideways-es of care giving not just for my elderly LO's but for myself and for my DH. Gotten a lot of good advice and a lot of great support.

This is just an observation on my part. Maybe it's b/c of the posts I frequent, but it seems that SO MANY of the posts are about "trying to get someone to change" "trying to make mom understand this or that" 'how do I get family involved in CG" how do I ask for more help" and my all time favorite "how do I deal with a narcissistic parent/client?'.

IMHO, so many of these questions have the same root cause: trying to CHANGE something, someone, some situation...that simply cannot BE changed. I don't know what stands in the way of these "changes" as many are really important and go to quality of life and health and family--

It's super frustrating. Right? We see the need. Our LO may or may not, but in the end, how many times do the things we feel that need change, actually happen? How many of us are beating a dead horse for simply YEARS?

My DH did, of his own free will, got hearing aids. And he wears them. Only took 30 years of downright begging him. He has said, in the month since he got them, he wished he'd done it sooner. SMH.

Mostly we don't HAVE 30 years to patiently wait the issue out.

This came to me in an epiphany the other night. I have an acquaintance (cannot honestly call her a friend anymore) who is 69, widowed and very poor who inherited her 3 grandkids from foster care 2 years ago. Her son 'let' her have the kids, but it isn't legal and she can't even get health care for them. She decided ONE YEAR ago to sell her home, move somewhere much cheaper and try to get the kids adopted. ONE YEAR AGO.