Follow

Many of you know that Dad was facing his last and perhaps most difficult challenges, declining from complications of dysphagia, losing either, strength and/or agility, yet still battling his way to reach 100. He almost made it. Dad lost his battle with life yesterday evening, about 40 - 45 minutes after I had left him at the SNF where he was getting hospice services. That's also the time it generally took me to get home when I left his house. He would call to make sure I got home safely. There will be no more calls now. I find it hard to even convey the depth of the bonds we had, the admiration I had for his stamina, his self taught knowledge, his adventurous spirit, and his insight into human behavior. Suddenly that's gone, but the benefit is that he's no longer struggling just to swallow water. He's no longer struggling to urge his compromised body to help him just turn in bed. I brought him to the SNF for post-hospitalization rehab, with the expectation that once again he could summon that tremendous spirit he has and overcome obstacles. But he was unable to do - the ravages of aging were winning. Gradually I saw the deterioration, my attitude changed and my hope diminished, and I began to look to the support of first palliative care, then hospice, to ease his suffering. I will miss him more than I can express; it's hard to articulate the meaning of a parent who was so strong and so inspiring, even in the face of so many obstacles, including intervention of others. But he's at peace. Goodbye Dad, and thank you for everything you've given me.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
GA, all we can do at this point is to cherish the blessings of having loved and been loved so truly. I know the depth of love you are feeling for your father...and I have recently started facing the reality of loosing my own. My heart goes out to you and I wanted you to know that your beautiful tribute has given me comfort, too. Peace and Blessings.