Follow

It doesn't give me nearly the break I expected. I don't know how 24/7 caregivers do it! I admire you so much! Mom calls me at least 6x a day and if I don't answer the phone, I have the *pleasure* of listening to a 10min long voice mail. I try to visit mom in the ALF every other day, but the days I don't visit (and even the days I do) I get bombarded with calls from her asking "when am I coming to see her?"

I do her laundry, my laundry, her bills, my bills, her housekeeping (until home is sold), my housekeeping, etc,

Yes at least I get a break from full-time caregiving, but not nearly as much as I had thought. Argh! Can anyone else relate?

(Again, apologies to full time caregivers. :) )

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Oops! This is my first time starting a topic and I am unsure if I posted in the correct forum or not. Meant to post in Q & A. Sorry!
(0)

You posted just fine. Welcome!

I have two observations to share:
1. Caregiving is a big responsibility no matter where the loved one lives. The nature of the responsibilities generally change when the residence changes, but they don't go away. People who haven't been caregivers generally do not "get" this, and may think now that your mother is in assisted living you are home free. Ha! So I can see how this can be a big disappointment to you. Who knew?
2. It sounds like you really need to set some boundaries, for your own sanity, and also so that you mother can settle in and get the most out of her new living quarters.

Advise your mother that there are often periods in the day when you will not be answering your phone. Tell her in a true emergency to notice the ALF staff. They will give her immediate help and also get in touch with you as soon as possible. That ought to make it a little less anxious for you to ignore