Follow

After mom's fall last week she went back to her little part time job, nothing has changed she still goes to the store, works, and drives at 85!!! The CT scans were all normal...I live with her as I am a nurse and stood by her through her 15 or so operations including open heart surgery, emergency appendectomy, etc.  Plus attending all the diabetic classes with her as well...and also took care of my dad til he passed on going on five years this March.  Mom was diagnosed with Alzheimer's dementia back in 2010 because she left a large sum of money at the bank and walked out...($11,000.00 !) So I took her to two different neurologists and this is what they found. I feel she was misdiagnosed as I did not see dementia at all (until now).  She does have depression, though...But still functions pretty well.. Although, she did get lost twice going to a new Drs appointment as she did not want me to take her there.  Before her fall she was starting to sundown and get really mean to me..So I mentioned it to her and she got angry.   All I said was mom you're starting to get mean and I think you should know about it. Well she went into a tirade. She seems fine during the day, but when she comes home from her little job, she starts in the early evening getting agitated...Also if I am not paying attention to her she interrupts me and gets agitated if I'm busy at the moment. Kind of like a child would do...I did notice the other morning she used a lot of baby powder after her shower and then she asks me to hook her bra and I held my breath but had to run out of the room and told her I can't help her because of the powder and she yelled at me, wear a mask!! So I showed her how to turn her bra around and hook it then turn it around again she said she already knew how to do it (but wants me to get sick from breathing in the powder..I smelled it for the rest of the day..I think she goes in my room and I have to keep the door locked as I smelled powder in it...So, to make a long