Follow

Mom is constantly changing her mind or forgetting about the plan. She is not safe to stay alone another winter. We are starting companion services this week for 8 hours a week. I am her main caregiver as well as caregiver for my husband who is oxygen dependant. I work full time as a home health nurse. My family is supportive but all live out of state and are unable to help with day to day care. I am so overwhelmed.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
I would suggest making yourself power of attorney at least in the area of her medical decisions. This will make things easier when any decisions have to be made when talking with her doctor, hospitals, assisted living arrangements, etc. Go ahead and take the steps to find an assisted living because just finding one could take a while. Sometimes less discussion with our elderly loved ones, the better. Just stick to simple everyday issues, the less I discussed- the better. They do not need to be burdened with issues we now need to take in hand. I know we would like their input and approval but just be strong and do it yourself. P.S. Go visit the assisted living facility first without them, that is so overwhelming for them also. God bless. Stay calm and carry on.
(2)