Follow

Good morning! I wanted to open a thread just for the issues particular to Millennial caregivers. I ask that Gen X and Boomers feel free to scroll but please leave this thread for the newest wave of caregivers and our specifically precarious situations due to economics, climate change, labor, and our own generational culture and social expectations.

I think the hardest challenge for me (33F) is the fact that I am the age group that took a double hit in the workforce----I was 18-21 during the Recession, and finished my degree finally in the pandemic. I graduated, was curated into a show a month after graduation (I'm an artist), and by August was the frog in the pan boiling my way into full-time caregiving for my grandfather.

I just finished a ton of house repairs for my Pop's reverse mortgage requirements, and he was in respite care for about 6 weeks. He went straight from rehab, so he hasn't been home since mid-February. It is was needed to happen, as I also had to take my mother (his daughter) to court to have her formally evicted (his children are train wrecks). I bring him home today in a few hours. I feel recharged I think, but I allowed myself to be young for a night for my best friends 35th birthday on Saturday, stayed out til 3AM, went to a warehouse party, and I just really miss that freedom already. The fear of the tail end years of my youth being out of reach is what makes me sad, even though I really do love my Pop. I wouldn't do this for another person in my life ever.

I also worry about money. I am going to start paying myself a POA stipend and try to find some work from home gigs. I also get sad among other millennials my age who are free and just really have become foreign in a way.

What's everyone else think? What's the hardest for you?

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Perfume...............Alvadeer here again, and I hope you are too.