Follow

This is my first time reaching out. I moved out of state to care for my 97 yr old dad. I left everything, my son, my home, friends, job, everything I loved. My siblings go about their lives without much input and I resent them. I have no life here other than caring for my dad 24/7. I’m so very sad and unhappy all the time... How do I not hate my life?

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Guess none of us really knew how poorly dad was doing until I moved in with him. I fully expected to get a job shortly after moving down here.
My sister comes down once a month and stays overnight at a hotel, I can escape for a little bit ( but I have to have meals prepared for them). This month she is coming down so I can get a colonoscopy( woo hoo) but she will leave right away. She takes care of his bills and is the one I vent to. One brother is totally absent, maybe get a call from him every 6 months. Other brother calls him once a week but ends up telling me that I need to be doing more with him to keep him more mental engaged.
I know this isn’t forever, he is 97 after all. He is grateful and sorry to put me in this position. He has offered to leave me the house ( it’s not worth much, manufactured home in a sr development) but it may cause more issues than it is worth. Have applied for aid and attendance, praying to get that to be able to get some respite care.
(1)