Follow

I am disabled, live in Florida, and started receiving SSI and Medicaid back in 2001 when I was 18. A few years ago I started drawing off my father, due to him retiring, because I still live with him. So I suppose I get SSDI now. This also entitled me to Medicare as well. I am, or was, full "dual-eligible" (I receive, or received, both Medicare and full Medicaid). I suppose I am only partial dual-eligible now. According to information I have read and was told, a single person is eligible for Medicaid if they have income less than $885 a month, mine is $803. Yet the people I have spoken to at the agency that handles Medicaid applications and eligibility (Department of Children and Families) say I have too much income! The $803 is all I get and I have no other assets. Another person said it was because of having Medicare.

I still don't understand why I am losing my Medicaid. I have a monthly "share of cost" of $603. Once I meet the share of cost my Medicaid kicks in for the rest of the month. Medicaid does not reimburse anything you have paid for.

DCF keeps telling me there is no use to filing an appeal. I called a local attorney that has offices close to the social security offices that handle disability cases and they say they don't handle Medicaid cases. Who the heck am I suppose to contact? Whenever I type in "Medicaid lawyers" in google I keep seeing Elder and Estate lawyers, but I am in my 30s. Has anyone else been through this rigamarole before?

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
I was curious about how this worked also. I started on Medicare this past September and until then, my medical insurance paid for everything. Now that I am on Medicare, my previous insurance drops to supplemental insurance and Medicare becomes my primary insurance. There are numerous things that I am not sure of, but I guess I'll eventually find out.