Follow

tmack
Ok, I'm new here and perhaps in the wrong place. I am the only son (4 out of state sisters) of my 80ish parents who lives close enough to care for their daily needs. My father has had 3 heart attacks and fatal lung cancer (about a year to live) and my mother suffers from dementia. I am also the father of a 15 year old boy and husband to a wife who had breast cancer 2 summers ago. As a teacher, I was able to take a 1 year leave to care for those around me but, it is destroying my sense of self and the frustration and anger grows. My wife has been very understanding as I tend to my parents each day but I am loosing it. any help would be appreciated,
tmac

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
msTish,
My personal opinion, and that is all it is, she does understand. My dad could be so unreasonable and act like he didn't have a clue, all it was was manipulation. The longer we talked about things, the longer it was before I took action. I would get so frustrated,and once again, things would get put on hold.
No matter how hard headed they can be at times, we do have to consider they are very afraid of change. Some elders feel that is the last stop, the nursing home.
And maybe your husband can take another look at "taking care of her" and what that could mean. He can be very active in her care if she goes to a facility. I recommend he be very involved, as not all nursing homes are what they could be.
Ask him if his father would want your health and sanity jeopardized? Would his father understand a change in plans?
I hope things start to go smoother for you. I can almost feel your anxiety coming thru your written words.
One final question, how much does it really matter that she understands? If you are waiting for her to say, "hey, that's a great idea", I doubt that is going to happen. You and your husband can come up with something that works for everyone involved. you are in my thoughts and prayers.Take care of yourself.....
(0)