Follow

Let me apologize in advance for the long post that's about to ensue. I've been caring for my mother in various capacities for over 20 years. She's 90 now and never drove or led an independent life and we live together. She was never proactive in her own well-being and somehow I took it on. (Where was my crystal ball, lol.) I don't work and have constant responsibility for her. I manage every aspect of her life which includes figuring out all of her sensitivities to meds, fragrances, foods, supplements and whatever else is left. :o( She has no participation in this. She is able to do so but there is absolutely nothing, even threats, that will change her actions. Believe me, I've tried EVERYTHING! So, she is who she is, will not change, and I have to figure it all out, pick up the pieces when she does things she's not supposed to, gets injured, sick, or whatever else that happens that could have easily been preventable. The bottom line is, I just don't want to do it ANYMORE! I do have caregivers that come in the house, for which I am grateful, but the bulk is still on me. Last night she was sobbing for hours and had bathroom issues. Yesterday she smelled gas in the house (there was no smell) and had doors and windows open while it was cold outside and continued to complain the her nose is burning. (Not stuff I haven't experienced with her before.) Every day it's either too hot in the house or too cold so the thermostat continually gets adjusted. If it's too hot, she can't breathe. "I need air, I need air." The list just goes on and on. She will do absolutely nothing to make this any easier on me yet she'll say that she doesn't want me to get sick. Today I told her how stressed I am and her typical response was, "Not because of me." She's in la la land and will probably stay there but I need to find some ways of coping when you just don't want to do it anymore. There are some support groups I've gone to but I need more frequency than once a month. I've talked t