Follow

Always is when I go away for the weekend with my family...

You can guarantee when I come back he's "been ill". EVERY TIME. So I phoned him - first sentence "I've been ill". Like its my fault because I went away!

STILL not taking all his medication that the GP gave him so I offer ZERO sympathy. Basically, wants me to tell him how he can feel better - "Take the meds the GP has given you Dad, if that fails then go an see you're GP but I'm not a doctor."

His words - "I desperately need you to visit the weekend." "I've got no food in the house" (Brother lives literally 5 mins drive from him - I live 35-40 mins. Brother is probably laying low). Anyway, he knows my car is in the garage so I'm struggling for transport and he knows my wife works weekends so may need our other car. So I tell him I can't promise. Anyone would have thought I'd told him I'd murdered the family next door.

Apparently, I'm "letting him down" and "need to arrange something", and "wife needs to understand". Of course the standby offer of home delivery groceries is not good enough - he doesn't want to spend the £30 minimum - they have to be hand delivered by me!

I've tried setting boundaries, I've said no can do, I've tried ignoring, I've tried just not doing. Give him his due he's relentless in his quest to get me to do what he wants!

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
1 2 3 4 5
And did any of you get Covid? Like the 5 million or so accross UK?
(1)

Hey Paul, you just wanted to tease us? Came to say a quick hello and disappeared again?
(2)

What’s the latest in Wales, Paul? How is dear old dad doing?
(3)

Need: That's exactly correct about the choking happening in the blink of an eye. Fortunately, my daughter, who was mature for her age at 13, had the ability to remain calm under pressure. How wonderful that your daughters also took CPR classes.
(1)

Llama,