Follow

Hi my name is Lindsay, I stopped working in 2012. I am a licensed hair stylist, but in nov. of 2012 I got the worst possible news ever. My mom who was also a hair stylist was never sick and never did drugs or drank, ate healthy and was only 56 yrs old was diagnosed with acute plasma cell lymphoma (a very rare form of multiple myeloma) cancer of your immune system. When it was found the doctor literally told her she had 3 wks without chemo and maybe 3 months with aggressive chemo. Her bone marrow was so full of cancer that it was spilling out into her body because it had no were else to go. Shock and disbelief is an understatment. My mom asked me to move home and stop working so that I could be her primary caregiver, I took a crash course in her kind of cancer she had and with her oncologist help and time I became her nurse. Caring for my mother was a complete honor, never a burden and I would have done it the rest of my life to have her here now. I appreciate the time I got to spend with her no matter how unbelievably hard it was to see her go from the mom I always knew, wanted to be just like, the women I watched do her hair get dressed put her make up on everyday in the summer my entire childhood and even into high school. I always wanted to be just like her. And after a few hits of chemo through IV and a chemo pill(revlamin) that I literally could not even touch with my hands because it could make me sick or even unable to have children, she looked like a diffrent person I used to pray to god to give it to me, let me have it just please not my mom. My mom and I learned so much during this time. against all odds my mom started getting better, we knew this was in no way a fix but a year and a half later we were going strong! It was like I didn't act scared because I didn't want her to feel scared so I was being strong for her, and I know she wasn't acting scared because she didn't wanna scare me. Her oncologist from the helen graham center in christiana del