Follow

I've been caring for my father for about the last 7 years. It's too much.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Kelley, we need more information. What are the medical issues with your father? Any memory issues? How old is your father? Why were you chosen to be his caregiver? Are you working outside of the home plus being a caregiver? Did you quit work to be your father's caregiver? Could your father qualify for Medicaid?
(2)

No, you are not alone and you may be burning out. I did the math from your profile and see that you've been taking care of him since you were 40 and he was 66?

We need more information as asked for above.
(0)

it is so nice to see someone answer
(0)

My father is 73 and I am 47. He has COPD and very limited mobility. I've been caring for him since the death of my mom 7 years ago next month.
(0)

I quit my job this November after he had a bad health scare. I didn't know what else to do. I have a wonderful husband of the past 4 years and thank God for him. My father has just us. His brother stops in maybe once a month (some help huh?) and my only sibling ( a brother) is incarcerated (past 8 years)
(0)

I just really need someone to talk to sometimes. This is becoming overwhelming to me and lately I see myself suffering mentally from all of this.
(1)

Do you work outside? Does dad qualify for Medicaid or does he have funds to pay for care?
(0)

No I don't work anymore but wish I did. I so miss being around people. Right now seeing an attorney to help get Veteran's and Medicaid. He's not able to pay for care. Has Hospice,...that's a joke. 2 hours of "bathing help" per week, a quick nurse visit...etc
(0)

Is he living in your house, his or are you living with him?

Do you have any children who still live at home?

Does your husband work?

You are mighty young to have quit your job. Have you lost health insurance as well?