Follow

I have been caring for MIL for four years, in her senior living facility, then in my home and now in SNF. When she lived with me and my husband the state paid me $1000.00 per month for 24 hour care saving them about $6000.00. She was admitted to the hospital in March with heart failure ( again) and never recovered enough to come home so I was out of work. I claimed unemployment but now that has run out so I'm out $800.00 per month. My husband was a self employed contractor so money was never steady and we got behind in all our bills and Mom let us use her money to help keep our home and keep the utilities on. Now we owe the facility $4000.00 for her care and we just don't have it. My husband now has steady employment with a company so it will get better and I am looking for full time employment but being out of the workforce caring for Mom really hurts my job hunting! I don't know how much longer I can keep fighting to save what we have before I break down. Why should we have to lose everything to care for our loved ones? I am from England and this would NEVER happen! Our elderly deserve to be cared for without the guilt of ruining the lives of their families. Just saying...

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
Just curious why you have to pay for your mother's care? Or was she already in the nursing home and she gave you money for your home and your bills instead of using the money on her own care?

Did you mother ever contributed to the U.S. social security/Medicare or any form of taxes, since you are from the UK, then I assume so is your Mother? If not, then she probably will be on Medicaid which is paid for by all us working tax payers, including yourself since you are working here.