Follow

My Mom likes to come in the kitchen when I am really busy and lift the pot lids. My Mom will tell me what to do and how to cook I am a chef by trade so it really irks me. Then I feel guilty right after, I tell her she is in my way the guilty is just killing me. So I said sorry to her and told her how much I love her, Well today she was in my way or so I thought so? and I led her out of the kitchen holding her arm and hand then I was like questioning my self did I get rough with her so I ask her. Mom was I rough with you she said no and then I ask her show me what I did she show me how I led her out of the kitchen, I then said I am sorry Mom and I love you she said you were not rough you just hurt my feelings. Anyways I suffer from OCD and I love my Mom and I told her she can come in the kitchen anytime it's just sometimes I am really busy and I have a micro management type of personality. So the guilty is killing me any advice.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Thank you Litldogtoo!
(0)

I kick my mom out of the kitchen all the time. She's got this thing where she somehow sneaks up behind me while I'm doing something and it scares me half to death. I'm not half as nice as you were.

If you have a kitchen table, can she sit near you and watch you cook? What about having a time set aside once a week where both you and she can 'cook' together? (I can't even imagine this, but hey, you might be able to pull it off:) I absolutely would not have the patience. So, as far as I'm concerned, you're a good person. I'm sorry your mom's feelings were 'hurt'. However, better her feelings hurt that perhaps getting splashed by something hot.
(1)

Hahaha lmao Thanks pamzimmrrt you made me laugh!
(1)