Follow

This is something I just realized. I'm new to this. My Dad is 74 and recovering from a ski accident/broken neck in a Rehab hospital. I've talked to two Social/Case Workers. The 2nd one asked me right away if/when he leaves the facility he is in now if he can live with me or my brother. Then I realized I'd already been asked that by the first social worker I came into contact with in the hospital at the beginning of all this.

This explains why we 'sudden caregivers' get wayyy in over our heads. In my case my brother's house is really messy, I live in a 695sq ft 1br condo with a flight of steps and my Dad has the best house out of all of us, a 3 bedroom.

Initially I can see saying 'yes of course' he can live with me because by all means I want to help and 'make it better', or I will move in with him etc. Which gets the institutions off the hook. But wait don't we pay taxes and ungodly insurance premiums all our lives so these institutions can step in and help when we need it? (Another rant for another time).

But when you say 'yes I'll live with them/they can live with me' honestly I have no idea what I'm getting into. I work in accounting, know nothing of the caregiving world, what's involved how exhausting it is. But sure, I'll sign up he needs help, right???

Anyway just some thoughts and an observation of what the institutions think the solution is to this problem. Pay in your whole life and when you need help, dump it on the untrained unprepared family.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Amy,

Usually there is a "care plan" meeting prior to discharge. Basically, someone has to step to the plate and assure the hospital/facility of a safe discharge. The PCP can write a script for VNA services. In my case I asked the doc to send in the troupes. By that I mean, physical therapist, occupational therapist, nurse, home blood draw, etc. Whatever your dad's coverage offers.