Follow

In the 2.5 yrs I have cared for my dad first on hospice and now off hospice, he has creeped slowly to what appeared to be death and back again about 6 times. Has anyone else ever been through this? This is my first time on here. I am exhausted in everyway still jumping through hoops for either passport or medicaid for help. It has been 2 weeks now that my dad has again begun to slow his eating and drinking, sleeps all day and night and has conversations with people not there etc. If he opens his eyes he stares vaguely or at me. He doesn't respond unless I really piss him off. It seems that once again we are wavering on the edge. Yet not. He eats if I feed him only if I did not he would never ask. Same with liquids. His color is still reasonable but he has become distant again. I am so tired emotionally from this not to mention the physical. I have become anxiety laden and heavier and just plain exhausted. Just needed to vent. Thanks.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Thank you mariesmom. I am sorry to hear your mom passed. Talking with people in the same boat has been really refreshing, my husband doesn't always understand even though he is there although he tries. Thank you for responding. :)
(0)

Hey weathernut. Sorry you are going through all this. My journey has just ended last month, when my Mom passed.

The ups and downs are so hard because we prepare ourselves mentally to say goodbye - and then they bounce back. A young (30 yoa) friend of mine said goodbye to her dad THREE TIMES at the hospital only to have him bounce back each time - the emotional toll it took nearly killed her even at her young age! (he finally passed quietly in his sleep without anyone there).