Follow

My parents are late 50's/early 60's. They have few friends but they are all at least 8 hours away. My parents are not involved in any sort of religious or social organization. They are immigrants and have limited English skills. We live in an area that has a very small immigrant community, and we don't know anyone that is from the same background in the area. They are not friends with their coworkers and have no desire to be. I feel mounting pressure to be their social life. They had one close friend, but she passed away. I am a graduate student and am very busy. I want to finish school, get a good job and provide a good life for my parents. But I feel like I'm lagging on my schoolwork because of my involvement in my parent's lives. However, I feel that if I was focused in my school work and my own life my parents would be and feel neglected. I love my parents and I enjoy spending time with them. They have no desire to go out and meet new people or friends, but they've expressed to me they feel lonely. And, their actions speak loudly too -- they buy things they don't need constantly. I feel like it's because they want to fill the house since the kids all moved out (my other siblings live far away). I know It's hard to make friends as we get older, and I feel selfish for wanting them to make more friends so I can have some more time to myself. They're lonely but they don't want new friends. They tell me they want me to do well in school but then they do and say things that make me worry and want to be by their side. What do I do?

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.