Follow

Do people know that in Pennsylvania if a nursing home patient has a change in mental status and transferred to a Geri/Psych unit for "change in mental status" you need to get the DNR re-activated in the transfer facility.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
I believe that any time you go to the hospital, you need toreassert the DNR, DNI and whatever other advanced directives the patient has
(1)

I'm not sure exactly what you are trying to say, I think it would be common practice to establish the DNR status when you transfer to any different facility, you can't count on those records to follow the patient. I know when my mom had a respite stay at a nursing home DNR was discussed and I'm sure that it would be asked again if she was ever admitted to a hospital. We also have her original DNR here at home in her nursing care binder and I would certainly make sure any first responders are aware of it.
(0)

I was a nurse at at Geri/psych unit and would get "change in mental status" patients ( usually from UTI) and didn't realize at first that when a patient transferred from nursing home with "change of mental status" and they were a DNR at previous facility the DNR didn't transfer. That was in PA. I was an advocate for new admits to notify families and got the DNR's re-instated. I want to get the word out for families that don't know. There was an elderly patient/dementia that came in, coded was recessatated and transferred to ICU. I wasn't working that day, but when my Mom died in 2003 and had dementia it was a blessing she passed. I mourned her living body and dying mind for a decade.
(1)

Martina, are you saying that only patients with "change in mental status" need to be concerned about transferring DNRs or could it be that, working in the geri/psych unit, those were the only ones you were aware of? It would make sense that DNRs would need to be established for any new admit, regardless of the department.