Follow

Anyone else got any ideas on how to deal with parent with dementia muttering under her breath. For the most part I ignore it, but it can be very vexing at times. Especially when I have knocked myself out taking care of all of her needs and wants all day. Sometimes she curses me and it bothers me, when I ask her why she has to do this, which is know is fruitless, she says she is saying her prayers. This is the kinda of stuff that does not make me feel too good.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Try to understand, she has no control of what she does or says as her brain no longer fuctions as it once did, you have to let it roll off of you and not take it personally, be kind and loving and comfort her as much as possible, please I am my mothers full time caretaker who has dementia, I have been doing this for 6 years now, the most important thing to know and understand is this is not her fault, she has no control, keep her on a schedule as any schedule change can cause great stress to her, always be loving even when she curses you, hold her, tell her you will always be there for her, please read up on the disease and be empathic, will keep you in my prayers
(7)

I've experienced the same things. You have to become a "Duck" and let it all roll off your back. We are not caring for our loved ones anymore. We are caring for their bodies. I feel I'm caring for the shell that once belonged to my mother. Its hard and you have to be strong. My prayers and thoughts are with you.
Take care.
(5)

The above comments are so true. I guess I am lucky because my husband cannot speak words. He makes sounds....like a hum. Maybe one syllable, maybe three, which he repeats over and over and over. He occasionally does it in the middle of the night. It's hard to ignore sometimes. I pray alot, asking for tolerance and patience. He cannot help it, and I have to keep reminding myself of that fact.
(1)